Kent County DUI Lawyer
Also Serving Clients in the Counties of Providence, Washington, Newport & Bristol
As in other states, Rhode Island carries severe penalties for driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. These penalties are meant to send a message to the public to discourage impaired driving. However, law enforcement can be overzealous in their dealings with drivers in seeking offenders and doing whatever they can to get a conviction.
If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI, you may be confused about what to do next or how to defend yourself. You may believe that an arrest and charge will automatically lead to a conviction that you cannot stop. However, that is not the case. Any criminal charge can and should be defended; defenses do exist to these charges but you will need the services of an experienced attorney. At Biafore Law, our Kent County DUI attorney brings 20+ years of experience to this matter.
Arrested for DUI? Reach out to Biafore Law at (401) 244-7433 or contact us online to request your free initial consultation about your case today.
DUI in Rhode Island can be charged in any of the following situations:
- Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measured .08 percent or higher, called a “per se” DUI.
- You had any amount of an illegal drug in your blood.
- You were under the influence of any intoxicating substance which impaired your driving regardless of your BAC.
Penalties for a first-offense DUI can include fines of $100 up to $400, a license suspension of 30 days up to 12 months, community service hours and/or up to a year in jail, and probation.
If your BAC measured .15 or higher or you were driving while drugged, you will likely face harsher penalties, such as fines of up to $500, a license suspension of three up to 18 months, and up to a year in jail. Anyone convicted of DUI will also need to complete DUI school and/or a substance abuse treatment program. You will also be charged a $500 highway safety assessment fee. You may be required to install an ignition interlock device in your car. You may be granted a hardship license if permitted by the judge.
These penalties will increase with subsequent DUIs incurred within a five-year timeframe. Subsequent convictions will include mandatory minimum jail sentences.
Refusing to take a breathalyzer test when asked to do so by law enforcement will result in the matter being referred to Traffic Tribunal.
Call us today at 401-244-7433 or fill out our form to schedule a free consultation.