Kent County Misdemeanor Lawyer
Defending Clients Charged With Misdemeanors in Kent, Providence, Washington, Newport, and Bristol Counties
If you face a misdemeanor charge, you may believe it is not very serious. Misdemeanors are indeed lower-level offenses than felonies. However, the consequences of a conviction can still disrupt your life, potential loss of your freedom, loss of your job, loss of your reputation, and a drain on your finances. Furthermore, a conviction will give you a permanent criminal record accessible to anyone on a routine background check. You must explain it to future employers, landlords, educational institutions, and others you may need to deal with in seeking life opportunities.
At Biafore Law, we understand how important it is to have professional representation when faced with the criminal justice system. You will want the best possible outcome available to you, but this will be likely only with the knowledge and skills of an experienced attorney. Our Kent County misdemeanor attorney can help you navigate the system, provide meaningful counsel and support at every turn, and create an aggressive strategy to fight your charges.
Have you been accused of committing a misdemeanor in Rhode Island? Call Biafore Law today at (401) 244-7433 or contact us online to schedule a meeting with our misdemeanor attorney in Kent County!
Over 20 Years of Legal Experience Meet Our Attorney
What are the Penalties for Misdemeanors in Rhode Island?
Misdemeanors consist of offenses that are punishable by up to a year of imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $1,000. Other penalties may apply as well, depending on your case. These could include treatment/educational programs for substance abuse, domestic battery, or drunk driving, probation with certain conditions that must be fulfilled, such as community service hours, house arrest, fulfilling your sentence only during hours or days when you are not at work, restraining orders, and more.
Rhode Island also has petty misdemeanors which result in:
- Up to six months of imprisonment
- A fine of $500
However, in each case, it will be up to the judge to decide your penalties based on the facts as long as the penalties remain within the legal limits. You will also likely face harsher punishments in cases where you have one or more prior convictions for the same crime.
For example, a first offense of reckless driving is charged as a misdemeanor with standard punishment, while a subsequent offense is charged and punished as a felony.
Examples of Rhode Island misdemeanors can include:
- Possession of more than an ounce of marijuana
- Defacing a structure with graffiti
- Simple assault or battery
- Theft of property valued at $1,500 or less
- Disorderly conduct
- Procuring alcohol for minors
Contact Our Misdemeanor Attorney Today
If you have been arrested for any misdemeanor, our Kent County misdemeanor attorney is ready to protect your legal rights, advise you throughout all phases of the criminal process, and do everything possible to help you avoid a conviction.
Contact Biafore Law today to schedule a FREE consultation with our misdemeanor lawyer in Kent County!
“Attorney Biafore took the time to explain things to me and never got frustrated with my lack of legal knowledge and the many questions I would ask.”
Biafore Law Is Here To Help
Call us today at 401-244-7433 or fill out our form to schedule a free consultation.